Posted by: cyradisnyc | December 5, 2008

Somewhere near Kodiak, Alaska

It is dark over Alaska, which I guess is no big surprise, seeing as it’s the time of year when the sun almost never rises here. (It is also midnight, this time, 3:00 am, NYC time, and 5pm JST.) Most people on the plane are asleep. I just looked out the window, and it is one of the most amazing views I have ever had. We are so far up, and so near the top of the Earth, that I can see the curvature of the Earth’s surface. Above the gently curving surface, which is very faintly illuminated, hang the stars. I can make out the Big Dipper, and lots of other little stars that I can’t tell are what. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Categories

